Research Faculty


The Discovery Research Laboratories that make up the USF Health Byrd Alzheimer's Institute include more than 75 scientists: In addition to the head of each laboratory, there are graduate students, postdoctoral fellows, technicians, and others who ensure that the research continues to move forward.

Select the Faculty member's name below to be directed to a current Pubmed query report detailing their research interests and discoveries. ARE YOU A STUDENT LOOKING FOR A RESEARCH POSITION? Click here

BASIC & TRANSLATIONAL RESEARCH FACULTY
Jessica Banko, Ph.D. Jessica Banko, Ph.D.
813-396-0691
jbanko@health.usf.edu
Signal transduction
Daniel Lee, Ph.D. Daniel Lee, Ph.D.
813-974-8594
dlee1@health.usf.edu
Neuroinflammation pharmacology
Chuanhai Cao, Ph.D. Chuanhai Cao, Ph.D.
813-396-0742
ccao@health.usf.edu
Neuroimmunology
Research Web site
David Morgan, Ph.D. David Morgan, Ph.D.
813-974-3949
scientist.dave@gmail.com
Amyloid models
Lab Web site
Chad Dickey, Ph.D. Chad Dickey, Ph.D.
813-396-0639
cdickey@health.usf.edu
Tau pathology
Research Web site
Peter Mouton, Ph.D. Peter Mouton, Ph.D.
813-396-0662
pmouton@health.usf.edu
Stereology
www.disector.com
Joshua Gamsby, Ph.D. Joshua Gamsby, Ph.D.
813-396-0712
jgamsby@health.usf.edu
Circadian rhythms and neurodegenerative diseases
Kevin Nash, Ph.D. Kevin Nash, Ph.D.
813-974-3788
knash@health.usf.edu
Gene therapy
Research Web site
Marcia Gordon, Ph.D. Marcia Gordon, Ph.D.
813-974-9926
mgordon@health.usf.edu
Microglial activation
Research Web site
Jaya Padmanabhan, Ph.D. Jaya Padmanabhan, Ph.D.
813-396-0721
jpadmana@health.usf.edu
Chromosome missegregation
Research Web site
Danielle Gulick, Ph.D. Danielle Gulick, Ph.D.
813-974-7402
dgulick@health.usf.edu
Schizophrenia and substance abuse
Maj-Linda Selenica, Ph.D. Maj-Linda Selenica, Ph.D.
813-974-5336
mselenic@health.usf.edu
Neurodegeneration and inflammation
Research Web site
Umesh Jinwal, Ph.D. Umesh Jinwal, Ph.D.
813-396-0670
ujinwal@health.usf.edu
Drug discovery
Edwin Weeber, Ph.D. Edwin Weeber, Ph.D.
813-396-9995
eweeber@health.usf.edu
Synaptic plasticity and behavior
www.weeberlab.com
David Kang, Ph.D. David Kang, Ph.D.
813-396-0606
dekkang@gmail.com
Neurodegeneration, Neuroprotection
Research Web site